Vesselin Dimitrov is the laureate of the 2023 IMI Mathematics Prize

The IMI award for 2023 was presented to Dr. Vesselin Dimitrov on July 10, 2023, during the opening of the International Conference "Mathematics Days in Sofia 2023". The prize was presented by Prof. Julian Revalski, President of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences and Chairman of the Prize Committee, and was personally delivered by the President of the Republic of Bulgaria, Rumen Radev.

2023-07-18T11:15:22+03:00Monday, 10 July 2023|Categories: News|Tags: , , |

Greta Panova, University of Southern California, is the winner of the IMI prize for 2020

Greta Panova, associate professor at the University of Southern California, is the recipient of the IMI Prize for 2020. Greta Panova was born in Sofia. She graduated from the National High-School of Mathematics and Natural Sciences in Sofia “Acad. Lyubomir Chakalov”. As a high-school student, she participated in three International Math Olympiads (1999 in Romania, 2000 in South Korea, 2001 in the USA) and won two silver and one gold medal. She graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2005 with a Bachelor’s degree, received a Master’s degree from the University of California Berkeley in 2006, and finished her Ph.D. at Harvard in 2011 under the supervision of Richard Stanley. In 2011, Greta Panova received a Simons Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of [...]

2020-06-30T12:10:12+03:00Tuesday, 30 June 2020|Categories: News|Tags: |

IMI Mathematics Prize for the year 2020

The Institute of Mathematics and Informatics (IMI) at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences opens a call for nominations for the IMI Mathematics Prize for the year 2020 for excellent achievements in Mathematics. The candidates must be Bulgarian citizens and must not have turned 40 on January 1, 2020. The deadline for nominations is January 15, 2020. Nominations are sent (electronically) to the Chairman of the Prize Committee. Details about the Prize and the nominations’ procedure can be found in the Statute of the Prize. Prize Committee Chairman Blagovest Sendov (Institute of Mathematics and Informatics, Sofia, Bulgaria) Members Efim Zelmanov (University of California, San Diego, USA) Armen Sergeev (Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow, Russia) Luchezar Avramov (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA) Vesselin Petkov (Université Bordeaux [...]

2019-09-18T09:35:55+03:00Sunday, 15 September 2019|Categories: News|Tags: |
Go to Top